Walking the Cat . . .

Because life's kinda like that . . .

Rainy Days . . .a love/hate relationship

with one comment

I suppose many people feel pretty much the same way I do when it comes to rainy days; we don’t like them.  They’re dreary, depressing and confining.  The last thing you want to do is leave the comfort of your home except in cases of “dire emergency”, like when the beer, snacks, cigarettes are running low and you absolutely have to venture out and replenish your supplies.  Other than those times, there’s little to do except sit around and wait for the rain to subside.  All that having been said (or whined), I enjoy rainy days for the opportunities they provide for taking pictures.  As a “budding” (actually, at my age, “late-blooming” would be a more apt adjective) photographer with a penchant for taking “contemplative” pictures, rainy days provide excellent opportunities to practice my craft.  There may be no better time to take “contemplative” pictures.  Given the drastic change of mood brought on by such days, I wonder if any enterprising psychologist has experimented with the effects of barometric pressure(s) on the fluids in the human brain?  I mean if you could conduct such an experiment (without having to kill the subject(s), of course), it could result in a finding of something other than “lack of natural sunlight” as a cause of Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD).  But I digress. . .

Of all the things that could be done on a rainy day, I prefer to take pictures.  I could, of course, do other things.  I could read a book or watch TV (I do more than enough of that already!).  Or I could take a cue from my cats and find a comfy spot and take a nap DSCF2485  Or I could stare out the window, contemplating all the things I could be doing if it wasn’t raining 012  Or I could just hide from the world and wish it would all just “Go Away” DSCF2402  Of course, I don’t do any of these things.  What I do is, I grab my camera and start taking pictures.DSCN0931  I took this one standing in the open doorway of my garage.  The water pouring from the slightly crumpled spouting over the garage afforded me an opportunity to capture water in motion.  I don’t like to go outside to take pictures when its raining (at least not all the way outside).  The necessity of donning poncho, toting an umbrella (more to protect the camera than myself) and old sneakers and slosh around looking for suitable subject matter is not what I would call an “enjoyable” activity.  There are alternatives, though.  The large tree at the end of the driveway offered enough protection from the steady drizzle to allow me to snap a picture of water running in the gutter under it.DSCN0937  After a brief dash from tree to house, I upload my pictures to the computer and select a couple (the only ones that actually turned out well) for inclusion into this post.  After an hour or so of “scribbling” I glance at my watch and reach for a cigarette to relax and enjoy the results of my day’s efforts.  Alas, the pack is empty.  Looks like a “dire emergency” has arisen, forcing my brave the inclement weather and replenish my supplies.  BTW, what do you, my few devoted readers, do to pass the time on a rainy day?  I’d like to know.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As the mother of 2 small children at home, there really is no such thing as a “typical rainy day”. Today, I caught up on house chores, as Julia figured today was a “sleepy day” and zonked out in the recliner for the better part of four hours! Some days, I’m the lone warrior, combating boredom in at least 2 children (this time, the 4 year old and the 9 year old). This may involve communal baking and the subsequent clean-up. Sometimes, it’s all about blowing raspberries to the rain and going out to play in it anyway (or, as was the case the year we moved into this house, we don’t care if a hurricane’s blowing and it’s a mess, we want to burn sparklers!). Oftentimes, rainy days mean gobs of homemade play dough, or buckets of air popped popcorn and curling up in blankets to watch a movie. Sometimes, rainy days mean blanket or couch cushion forts.

    Today, it meant cleaning out the fridge and freezing the last of the peach crop.

    Colleen Faler

    August 28, 2013 at 5:12 pm


Leave a Reply

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Life Efflorescence

A Lifestyle Blog

Rings Inside a Tree

Living, Writing, Growing

Write Brained

life of an aspiring writer

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

MARISSA LANDRIGAN

Writer. Teacher. Eater. Nerd.

Extra Dry Martini

Straight up, with a twist.

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

GLITTERING SCRIVENER

MARIA DAHVANA HEADLEY - WRITER

Quoth The Wordsmith

Dreary writing and appalling spelling? Quoth the Wordsmith, "Nevermore."

Walking the Cat . . .

Because life's kinda like that . . .

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

