Walking the Cat . . .

Because life's kinda like that . . .

Chasing the “WOW” . . .

with 4 comments

I have spent a good portion of my life in pursuit of an experience I can’t adequately describe.  I can only describe the circumstances of my first encounter with this elusive interaction.  

It was during a creative writing class in college I first had the “encounter” that would become my life’s obsession.

The class had been given an assignment to describe, in a few hundred words (I think it was 300 hundred words), an inanimate object of given dimensions.  I chose an old Smith-Corona portable typewriter.  It was a hideous thing; a compact combination of turquoise body with fat, white keys encased in its own turquoise carrying case.  My parents got if for me for Christmas one year.  I think I was thirteen or thereabouts.

Anyway, back to creative writing class.  For the assignment I wrote my description as a “conversation” between myself and the typewriter (one that has, for better or worse, continued through the ensuing years), describing it in skeletal terms; a “death’s-head” smile of grinning, fat, fat white teeth and shock of white paper protruding from the roller; how I sat silently before the thing, waiting for the words to come.  I forget now, after all these years, everything I wrote to describe our “conversation”.  I do remember struggling with it for some time before I felt it would be acceptable for the assignment.  I also remember I was not especially eager to read it in class.

I waited patiently as my classmates read their pieces; each one better, at least to my thinking, than the last.  When my turn to read came, I hesitated for a moment or two, then launched into my reading with as much enthusiasm as I could muster.  It took less than two minutes to read the piece and when I finished I steeled myself for the inevitable criticisms I felt sure were to come.  The class was silent.  I guess you could call it a “pregnant pause”.  Then from somewhere behind me, a single word, “Wow”.  It wasn’t an explosive “WOW!”; more a subdued expression of incredulity.  I don’t know who said it.  I didn’t turn to look.

I don’t recall the grade I received for the paper, or if a grade was given.  The paper has long since disappeared.  There is only one thing I remember about that class: that single “Wow!”.  I’ve been chasing that “Wow” ever since, trying to capture, or recapture, the feeling of doing, or having done, something special, something no one else could do.

I came close once, several years ago.  But that’s a story for another post . . .

Written by stevewthomas

February 13, 2013 at 4:43 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your story reminded me of a Smith-Corona my father purchased for me at a yard sale. It was black and stately. I even gave it… her… a name, which I’ve since forgotten. I actually did a good deal of writing on her, most of which has passed away.

    Thanks for the memory.

    indytony

    February 13, 2013 at 10:36 pm

  2. LIkewise, I did quite a bit of writing on my “death’s-head” typewriter as well. . .Pity I haven’t one now. I much prefer my old Smith-Corona to a computer typepad. . .Thanks for stopping by. . .

    stevewthomas

    February 13, 2013 at 11:12 pm

  3. My mum bought me a small beige portable when I entered Teacher’s College. In these days students handed in assignments hand written. My handwriting was OK but I remember a particular high school teacher saying that anything that made it easier for the examiner to read your paper would help you with the final mark.
    I spent very little time studying and a lot of time having a good time, so I needed all the help I could get. So, despite my lousy spelling the type written pages went down very well with the lecturers and I made it through.
    When I was put in charge of my first classroom (primary school) I used that same typewriter as a motivating tool to encourage the many students who were struggling with reading and writing. It worked like an absolute charm and before long I had students writing stories that went on for pages where previously they would barely write a few lines. My school principal was so impressed by the effect on the ‘strugglers’ that she bought a heap of second hand typewriters and put one in each classroom. This all happened more than forty years ago but I still have that little portable. A lot of things have had to go in that time but I cannot bring myself to throw it out.

    araneus1

    February 17, 2013 at 7:11 pm

  4. I would still have that old turquiose “monstrosity”, too, if I hadn’t destroyed it in a “fit of pique”. . .since then I’ve gone through two electrics, a Brother “word processor” and three laptop computers . . .I still miss the feeling of that old Smith-Corona . . .somehow it managed to make the writing more “real”. Thanks for “liking” and commenting. . .It really means a lot. . .Also, thanks for sharing the memory . .

    stevewthomas

    February 17, 2013 at 7:18 pm


Leave a Reply

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Life Efflorescence

A Lifestyle Blog

Rings Inside a Tree

Living, Writing, Growing

Write Brained

life of an aspiring writer

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

MARISSA LANDRIGAN

Writer. Teacher. Eater. Nerd.

Extra Dry Martini

Straight up, with a twist.

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

GLITTERING SCRIVENER

MARIA DAHVANA HEADLEY - WRITER

Quoth The Wordsmith

Dreary writing and appalling spelling? Quoth the Wordsmith, "Nevermore."

Walking the Cat . . .

Because life's kinda like that . . .

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

