Walking the Cat . . .

Because life's kinda like that . . .

Writing & Risk . . .

with one comment

During a TED talk in 2006 (http://www.ted.com/talks/ken_robinson_says_schools_kill_creativity.html) education and creativity guru Sir Ken Robinson said this concerning creativity: he said, “. . . if you are not prepared to be wrong, you will never come up with anything original”.  “. . . Prepared to be wrong. . . ”  I think that’s a very telling phrase.  It means in order to come up with a viable idea, we have to assume a certain amount of risk, and whatever our investment in the creative process, be it time, energy, money or all three, may be lost.  As writers, we live with risk on a daily basis.

Early on in my marriage I was ravaged by guilt over my writing.  Having been divorced numerous times prior to my present union, I was fearful the investment of time and energy (I was often absent, if not physically, emotionally), not to mention money was putting my marriage at risk.  It was a risk I was unwilling to take.  I set aside the writing and channeled my still roiling creative energies into other, more profitable (if not satisfying) pursuits.  I became a professional cook, then chef.  As a hobby, I made jewelry.  But I never completely abandoned writing.

As a chef I wrote a training manual for my restaurant staff and penned a food & wine column for a local newspaper.  I made page after page of journal entries on every topic that piqued my curiosity or passion.

I have no idea how the people who see my blog feel about it.  Thanks to WordPress’ analytics I know it’s seen, if not read and that’s okay because sometimes it’s enough to know you aren’t “playing to an empty theater”.  Still, it would be nice to know what others think of the work.  Do the people who see my blog derive any enjoyment from my creative efforts?  Any value?  Do they agree/disagree with what I have to say?

I have no answers to any of these questions.  All I can do is put it “out there” and wait for positive feedback.

Of course, I could be wrong.  But that’s a risk I’m willing to take.

Written by stevewthomas

January 1, 2013 at 8:25 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is the first post I’ve read of yours. I would only say – work hard to maintain that delicate balance between expressive yourself creatively and giving yourself (and providing for) your family. I say this confessionally, not dogmatically. I let my personal pursuits separate me from my family. Now, I have all the time in the world to write, living states away from my wife and children.

    Anyway, create away, but let God lead you to love in both word and deed.

    indytony

    January 1, 2013 at 11:36 pm


Leave a Reply

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Life Efflorescence

A Lifestyle Blog

Rings Inside a Tree

Living, Writing, Growing

Write Brained

life of an aspiring writer

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

MARISSA LANDRIGAN

Writer. Professor. All Around Nerd.

Extra Dry Martini

Straight up, with a twist.

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

GLITTERING SCRIVENER

MARIA DAHVANA HEADLEY - WRITER

Quoth The Wordsmith

Dreary writing and appalling spelling? Quoth the Wordsmith, "Nevermore."

Jackie Cangro

Writer * Editor * Animal Lover

Walking the Cat . . .

Because life's kinda like that . . .

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

